Members

Dr Zahid Shahab Ahmed

Email: zahidupeace06@gmail.com
Job Title: Research Fellow
University Affiliation: Deakin University
Research Interests: Conflict Resolution, Peace Education, Peace and Security in the Muslim World, Pakistan's Foreign Relations, Preventing/Countering Violent Extremism
Website: University profile

Prof. Shahram Akbarzadeh

Email: shahram@deakin.edu.au
Job Title: Professor
University Affiliation: Deakin University
Research Interests: Middle East Politics, Central Asia Politics, Political Islam, Muslim Integration in the West
Website: University profile

Kashifa Aslam

Email: kashifaaslam@gmail.com
Job Title: PhD student
University Affiliation: Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology
Research Interests: Islamophobia, Media representation of Muslims, political Islam, journalism and media studies
Website: University profile

Nazeh Baarini

Email: naz@baarinigroup.com.au
Job Title: Phd Student
University Affiliation: Deakin University
Research Interests: Islamic finance
Website: University profile

Dr Rebecca Barlow

Email: rebecca.barlow@deakin.edu.au
Job Title: Senior Research Fellow
University Affiliation: Deakin University
Research Interests: Iran, women's movement, women's leadership, human rights
Website: University profile

Dr Kylie Baxter

Email: kabaxter@unimelb.edu.au
Job Title: Lecturer
University Affiliation: The University of Melbourne
Research Interests: Gulf politics, Islamic politics, international relations of the Middle East
Website: University profile

Prof. Howard Brasted

Email: hbrasted@une.edu.au
Job Title: Professor of History
University Affiliation: UNE
Research Interests: Current research engages the themes of: India and Pakistan, Islam in the Modern World, American Imperialism
Website: University profile

Dr Mark Briskey

Email: mfbrisk@gmail.com
Job Title: Senior Lecturer
University Affiliation: Curtin University
Research Interests: Pakistan, Strategic Culture and Pakistan Army, South Asia history, organizational culture in South Asian militaries, Bangladesh
Website: University profile

Prof. Linda Briskman

Email: l.briskman@westernsydney.edu.au
Job Title: Margaret Whitlam Chair of Social Work
University Affiliation: Western Sydney University
Research Interests: Indigenous rights; asylum seeker rights; challenging Islamophobia
Website: University profile

Dr Anisa Buckley

Email: ayibee@gmail.com
Job Title: Business Development Manager
University Affiliation: University of Melbourne alumni
Research Interests: Muslim women, Islamic law, marriage and divorce, feminism, anthropology, sociology
Website: University profile

Dr Susan Carland

Email: susan.carland@monash.edu
Job Title: Lecturer and Deputy Director
University Affiliation: Monash University
Research Interests: Feminism, gender, sexism, multiculturalism, terrorism, Islam, Muslims, contemporary Australia
Website: University profile

Dr Dara Conduit

Email: dara.conduit@deakin.edu.au
Job Title: Associate Research Fellow
University Affiliation: Deakin University
Research Interests: Islamism, political violence, non-state actors, Syria, Iran, contentious politics
Website: University profile

Dr Melissa Crouch

Email: melissa.crouch@unsw.edu.au
Job Title: Senior Lecturer
University Affiliation: University of New South Wales
Research Interests: Indonesian Law, Myanmar law; Law and Religion; Law and Development; Constitutional Law; Administrative Law; Comparative Law; Legal Pluralism in Southeast Asia
Website: University profile

Dr Karien Dekker

Email: karien.dekker@rmit.edu.au
Job Title: Associate Professor
University Affiliation: RMIT University
Research Interests: Muslim visibility, Ethnic diversity, Community participation, Social and public housing, Urban Governance, Social cohesion, Social capital, Quantitative studies using multilevel regression analysis, Social network analysis, International comparative research.
Website: University profile

Dr Tristan Dunning

Email: tristan.dunning@uq.edu.au
Job Title: Adjunct Research Fellow (School of Historical and Philosophical Inquiry); Sessional Teaching Instructor (School of Political Science and International Studies)
University Affiliation: The University of Queensland
Research Interests: Islamism(s); Islamic and national movements in the Middle East, particularly the cases of Palestine, Kurdistan, Iraq and Syria; Critical approaches to terrorism, radicalisation and state violence; Everyday life in Iran
Website: University profile

Ryan Edwards

Email: r.edwards4@student.unimelb.edu.au
Job Title: PhD Candidate
University Affiliation: University of Melbourne
Research Interests: Australian Muslims/Muslims in the West
Website: University profile

Prof. Greg Fealy

Email: greg.fealy@anu.edu.au
Job Title: Associate Professor
University Affiliation: The Australian National University
Research Interests: Indonesian Islam, Islamic politics, Southeast Asian Islam, terrorism.
Website: University profile

Dr Naser Ghobadzadeh

Email: naser.ghobadzadeh@acu.edu.au
Job Title: Research Fellow
University Affiliation: Australian Catholic University
Research Interests: Political Theology, Religion-state relations, middle east politics, Iran
Website: University profile

Prof. Michele Grossman

Email: michele.grossman@deakin.edu.au
Job Title: Research Professor in Diversity and Community Resilience
University Affiliation: Deakin University - Alfred Deakin Institute for Citizenship
Research Interests: countering violent extremism, cultural diversity and community resilience, gender and terrorism, communitarian identity and activism
Website: University profile

Prof. Riaz Hassan

Email: Riaz.Hassan@unisa.edu.au
Job Title: Director, International Center for Muslim and non-Muslim Understanding/Emeritus Professor of Sociology
University Affiliation: University of South Australia/Flinders University
Research Interests: Muslim societies, sociology of housing, political violence and social demography.
Website: University profile

Dr Derya Iner

Email: diner@csu.edu.au
Job Title: Senior Lecturer, Higher Degree Research Coordinator, Lecturer, Research-Fellow
University Affiliation: Charles Sturt University
Research Interests: Islamophobia, Muslim Identity and the West, Australian and Western Muslims, Early 20th century Islamic intellectual history, Ottoman women's history
Website: University profile

Dr Raihan Ismail

Email: raihan.ismail@anu.edu.au
Job Title: Lecturer
University Affiliation: ANU
Research Interests: Political Islam, sectarian politics in the Middle East and religious institutions in Muslim societies
Website: University profile

Dr Taghreed Jamal al-Deen

Email: taghreed.jamalaldeen@deakin.edu.au
Job Title: Associate Research Fellow
University Affiliation: Deakin University
Research Interests: Education, women, gender, ethnicity, class, migration, Islam
Website: University profile

Dr Martin Kear

Email: martin.kear@sydney.edu.au
Job Title: Sessional Lecturer
University Affiliation: University of Sydney
Research Interests: Political participation of Islamist movements, political violence, terrorism, Palestinian/Israeli Conflict
Website: University profile

Dr Zuleyha Keskin

Email: zkeskin@csu.edu.au
Job Title: Course Director
University Affiliation: Charles Sturt University
Research Interests: Islamic spirituality, Women in Islam
Website: University profile

Dr Ghena Krayem

Email: ghena.krayem@sydney.edu.au
Job Title: Senior Lecturer
University Affiliation: University of Sydney
Research Interests: Islam and Muslims in Australia; Muslim Women; Islamic Law; Multiculturalism; Family Law; Dispute Resolution
Website: University profile

Dr Mehal Krayem

Email: mehal.krayem@uts.edu.au
Job Title: Researcher and Tutor
University Affiliation: University of Technology, Sydney
Research Interests: Identity, race, racism, gender, whiteness, multiculturalism, migration, media, representation
Website: University profile

Dr Susie Latham

Email: s.latham@curtin.edu.au
Job Title: Adjunct Postdoctoral Fellow
University Affiliation: Curtin University
Research Interests: Muslim women; Islamophobia
Website: University profile

Prof. Tim Lindsey

Email: t.lindsey@unimelb.edu.au
Job Title: Malcolm Smith Professor of Asain Law, Redmond Barry Distinguidhed Professor
University Affiliation: University of Melbourne
Research Interests: Islam, law and the state in Southeast Asia
Website: University profile

Prof. Terence Lovat

Email: Terry.Lovat@newcastle.edu.au
Job Title: Emeritus Professor
University Affiliation: The University of Newcastle, Australia & University of Oxford, UK
Research Interests: Islam, Theology, Religious & Values Education
Website: University profile

Iain MacGillivray

Email: iainm@student.unimelb.edu.au
Job Title: Research Assistant
University Affiliation: The University of Melbourne
Research Interests: Turkish Politics and Foreign Policy, Middle East Politics and History
Website: University profile

Dr Benjamin MacQueen

Email: ben.macqueen@monash.edu
Job Title: Associate Professor
University Affiliation: Monash University
Research Interests: Middle East Politics, Conflict Resolution, Democratisation, Refugees
Website: University profile

Prof. Fethi Mansouri

Email: fethi.mansouri@deakin.edu.au
Job Title: Professor/Director, Alfred Deakin Institute for Citizenship and Globalisation
University Affiliation: Deakin University
Research Interests: Migration studies, Comparative refugee research, Global Islamic Politics, Multiculturalism and intercultural relations
Website: University profile

Dr Milad Milani

Email: m.milani@westernsydney.edu.au
Job Title: Lecturer
University Affiliation: Western Sydney University
Research Interests: Sufism: Sufi history and hermeneutics; Islam: Islamic historiography, Islamic political thought; religion: history of religion, comparative religious studies, religion and politics, religion in Iran and the Persianate world.
Website: University profile

Prof. Julian Millie

Email: Julian.Millie@monash.edu
Job Title: Associate Professor and Future Fellow, Anthropology, School of Social Sciences
University Affiliation: Monash University
Research Interests: Islamic practice and society in Indonesia, Genres of Islam in Southeast Asia
Website: University profile

Luisa Mitchell

Email: luisacmitchell@gmail.com
Job Title: Intern
University Affiliation: AAIMS
Research Interests:
Website: University profile

Dr Natalie Mobini

Email: natalie.mobini@bnc.bahai.org.au
Job Title: Adjunct Research Fellow
University Affiliation: Charles Sturt University
Research Interests: Inter-faith dialogue, majority-minority relations, Iran, Indonesia
Website: University profile

Dr Kylie Moore-Gilbert

Email: kylie.moore@unimelb.edu.au
Job Title: PhD candidate
University Affiliation: University of Melbourne
Research Interests: History and politics of the Persian Gulf, political Shi'ism, youth movements and online activism, opposition under authoritarianism.
Website: University profile

Prof. Pam Nilan

Email: Pamela.Nilan@newcastle.edu.au
Job Title: Professor
University Affiliation: University of Newcastle, Australia
Research Interests: youth, gender, Indonesia, Southeast Asian Islam
Website: University profile

Dr Mehmet Ozalp

Email: mozalp@csu.edu.au
Job Title: Director, Centre for Islamic Studies and Civilisation
University Affiliation: Charles Sturt University
Research Interests: Contemporary issues around Islam and Muslims, Islamic Theology, Islamic History, Social cohesion, Muslim Identity, Interfaith relations
Website: University profile

Mahmoud Pargoo

Email: Mahmoud.SeifiPargoo@myacu.edu.au
Job Title: PhD Candidate
University Affiliation: Australian Catholic University
Research Interests: Sharia and Islamic Law, Iran
Website: University profile

Daniel Peterson

Email: daniel.peterson@acu.edu.au
Job Title: PhD Candidate/Research Assistant
University Affiliation: Australian Catholic University
Research Interests: Indonesian Islam, human rights, law
Website: University profile

Dr Mario Peucker

Email: mario.peucker@vu.edu.au
Job Title: postdoctoral research fellow
University Affiliation: Victoria University
Research Interests: Muslim citizenship and community activism
Website: University profile

Dr Sarah Phillips

Email: sarah.phillips@sydney.edu.au
Job Title: Senior Lecturer
University Affiliation: The University of Sydney
Research Interests: Post-Weberian statehood and state "failure", the securitsation of development, post-colonial perspectives on international relations, the politics of contemporary state-building, the management of violence beyond the state, informal institutions, and Yeme
Website: University profile

Dr Lily Rahim

Email: lily.rahim@sydney.edu.au
Job Title: Associate Professor
University Affiliation: University of Sydney
Research Interests: Democratisation, authoritarian governance, political Islam, ethnic politics
Website: University profile

Prof. Halim Rane

Email: h.rane@griffith.edu.au
Job Title: Associate Professor
University Affiliation: Griffith University
Research Interests: Islamic Studies; Islamic thought; Muslim communities in Australia
Website: University profile

Dr Joshua Roose

Email: Joshua.Roose@acu.edu.au
Job Title: Director, Institute for Religion, Politics and Society
University Affiliation: Australian Catholic University
Research Interests: Political Islam, Islamic Law, Muslims in Western Contexts, Citizenship, Masculinity, Populism
Website: University profile

Prof. Abdullah Saeed

Email: a.saeed@unimelb.edu.au
Job Title: Sultan of Oman Professor in Arab and Islamic Studies
University Affiliation: University of Melbourne
Research Interests: Qur'anic hermeneutics; reform of Islamic law; Islam and human rights; Islam in Australia
Website: University profile

Prof. Amin Saikal

Email: Amin.Saikal@anu.edu.au
Job Title: University Distinguished Professor of Political Science, Public Policy Fellow, Chair of the Middle East Reference Group, and Director of the Centre for Arab and Islamic Studies (The Middle East and Central Asia)
University Affiliation: Australian National University
Research Interests: Politics, history, political economy and international relations of the Middle East and Central Asia, and the role of Islam in these two regions.
Website: University profile

Zarlasht Sarwari

Email: z.sarwari@westernsydney.edu.au
Job Title: PhD Candidate
University Affiliation: Western Sydney University
Research Interests: Afghan Australian identities, migration, transnationalism, Muslim Australians, nationalism, multiculturalism, deterritorialisation, diversity.
Website: University profile

Dr Kerstin Steiner

Email: K.Steiner@latrobe.edu.au
Job Title: Associate Professor
University Affiliation: La Trobe University
Research Interests: The study of Southeast Asian legal systems, touching on issues such as: comparative law methodology when undertaking Southeast Asian legal studies; notions of legal pluralism in particular in regards to the applicability of Islamic law in Southeast Asia;
Website: University profile

Reem Sweid

Email: reem.sweid@deakin.edu.au
Job Title: Casual Researcher
University Affiliation: Deakin University
Research Interests: progressive Islam, countering violent extremism, identity and belonging
Website: University profile

Prof. Bryan Turner

Email: Bryan.Turner@acu.edu.au
Job Title: Professor of Sociology of Religion
University Affiliation: Australian Catholic University
Research Interests: Globalisation and religion, religious conflict and the modern state, and human rights and religion.
Website: University profile

Sirin Yasar

Email: shirin.yasar@live.com
Job Title: PhD candidate
University Affiliation: The University of Melbourne
Research Interests:
Website: University profile

Prof. Samina Yasmeen

Email: samina.yasmeen@uwa.edu.au
Job Title: Professor
University Affiliation: University of Western Australia
Research Interests: Narratives of Muslim Militant Groups, Pakistan Foreign Policy, Muslim Citizens in the West, Muslim Women, Islam in Australia, Women and Jihadi Narratives
Website: University profile

Prof. Ihsan Yilmaz

Email: ihsan.yilmaz@deakin.edu.au
Job Title: Research Chair in Islamic Studies and Intercultural Dialogue
University Affiliation: Deakin University
Research Interests: Islam-Constitutions-Human Rights-Democracy-Citizenship, Islam-State-Society-Law Relations (Turkey, Pakistan, Egypt, UK, Australia), Islamist Radicalism in International, Transnational and Global Perspective, Islamic and Islamist Movements (Turkey, Pakistan, Egypt, UK, Australia), Muslim Minorities - Law - Politics (UK, Australia)
Website: University profile